Mac

How to remove Your Maps Now (search.yourmapsnow.com)

Search.yourmapsnow.com or Your Maps Now is misleading browser hijacker, that replaces default search engine and homepage in Safari, Google Chrome or Mozilla Firefox on Windows or Mac. Often, it is accompanied with browser extension or application called "Your Maps Now". This add-on sneaks in browsers and takes control over main browser settings. Of course, it installs without user permission using the deceptive tactic. After installation, user search queries are redirected to query.yourmapsnow.com and then to search.yahoo.com. This allows the hijacker to collect private browser data and share it with advertising companies. The homepage also changes to Search.yourmapsnow.com and, besides search, provides quick links to main map resources such as Google Maps and Bing Maps. Page looks similar to normal search engine page, and some users don't even see the difference until they start searching for something.

How to remove PDF Converter Hub (Windows and Mac)

PDF Converter Hub (a.k.a. PDF Converter Hub New Tab, Search.hpdfconverterhub.com) is potentially unwanted browser extension for Google Chrome, Mozilla Firefox and Safari. Malware originates from Cyprus and was developed by Eightpoint Technologies Ltd. (some sources indicate SpringTech Ltd.) It modifies search and homepage settings in these browsers and controls them not allowing users to make changes. Hijacker sets search.hpdfconverterhub.com as default search engine, new tab and home page. However, search queries typed in the search box are redirected to search.yahoo.com, so there can be some kind of affiliation or partnership between large search provider and developer of the add-on. PDF Converter Hub also constantly offers users to subscribe to its notifications, which will lead to getting unwanted advertising as desktop notifications. Main page itself consists of toolbar, search box, informational links and shortcuts to popular shopping sites and social networks. PDF Converter Hub is promoted as convenient tool for converting various file formats to PDF and vice versa.

How to remove Push-time.com

Push-time.com is unsafe website, that is used for social engineering attack in Google Chrome, Mozilla Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari or Edge browsers on Windows, Mac or Android operating systems. Main goal of such shady websites is to subscribe users to browser notifications, using trickery and fraud. Notifications is a function in modern browsers, when news or subscription updates are delivered to the desktops even when the browser's window is closed. The idea behind this, is to inform users about hot news, social networks updates or new YouTube videos from subscriptions. However, cool feature was turned to their advantage by advertising networks. The Push-time.com is one of thousands domains, using similar technique to fool unsuspecting users.

How to remove MacAppExtensions

MacAppExtensions (Adware.MAC.Linkury.C) is malware related to Search.tapufind.com hijacker, that we described in some of our earlier articles. It works in MacOS and targets Safari, Google Chrome and Mozilla Firefox browsers. The main symptom is, that your browsers search and homepage settings change to search.tapufind.com, and this setting cannot be modified until MacAppExtensions is removed. However, this virus not only hijacks the browser, but also gathers private information about its user (collects data related to browsing activity: geolocations, entered search queries, URLs of visited websites, IP addresses etc.).

How to remove Robotcaptcha.info ads

Robotcaptcha.info is adverse domain, that may show unwanted pop-ups and ads in Google Chrome, Mozilla Firefox, Internet Explorer Safari or Edge browsers on Windows, Mac or Android operating systems. Landing pages from Robotcaptcha.info appear from nowhere and offer users to subscribe to notifications. This is feature in modern browsers, that help users get actual news in faster and convenient way. However, on the other side of this, when website is of advertising nature, users start receiving ads, pop-ups, tech support scam messages on their desktops. This is an element of social engineering, and clicking "Allow" button, actually, subscribes users to notifications. At the same time, Robotcaptcha.info initiates standard dialog box window with option to allow or block notifications from site you are visiting. If person clicks on the "Allow" button, users will start receiving unwanted pop-up ads from Robotcaptcha.info directly on the desktop even when browser is closed.